T.J. Ward earns honor - 19 Action News|Cleveland, OH|News, Weather, Sports

T.J. Ward earns honor

Posted: Updated:

BEREA, Ohio -- Cleveland Browns DB T.J. Ward has been chosen by his teammates to receive the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award. The Ed Block Courage Award is given annually to a member of each of the 32 NFL teams who exemplifies the qualities of Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, based on courage, compassion, commitment and community. All 32 winners will be honored at an event in Baltimore.

Ward, who sustained a knee injury in 2012 and was placed on injured reserve, ranks second on the team this season with 106 tackles (84 solo), leads the club with 13 tackles for loss, boasts two interceptions and seven passes defensed and has missed only one or zero defensive snaps in nine of 13 contests. During the Browns' 37-24 primetime victory against the Buffalo Bills in Week 5, he registered his first career interception-return touchdown in the game's final two minutes to secure the win.

This past year, Ward supported Browns PLAY 60 through school visits and hosting youth football camps, helped provide turkeys to Northeast Ohio families for Thanksgiving and sponsored a community season-ticket program, which provides tickets, apparel and food for the Boys & Girls Club. Ward, who will host a holiday shopping spree for local children in need tonight, established the T.J. Ward Foundation, focused on providing young people with the tools needed to become strong, responsible men and women by emphasizing education, family values and community.

Ward will be presented the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award Tuesday at Providence House's 18th Annual Deck the House Benefit at FirstEnergy Stadium, with the dinner program beginning at 6 p.m. Browns OL Joe Thomas and his wife, Annie, will serve as honorary co-chairs for the event.


Cleveland Browns Ed Block Courage Award winners:


1984    WR Willis Adams

1985    DE Carl Hairston       

1986    TE Ozzie Newsome

1987    RB Earnest Byner

1988    LB Eddie Johnson

1989    T Cody Risien

1990    RB Kevin Mack

1991    CB Mark Harper

1992    WR Lawyer Tillman

1993    WR Patrick Rowe

1994    LB Carl Banks

1995    DB Bennie Thompson

1999    DE Derrick Alexander

2000    LB Jamir Miller

2001    OG Jeremy McKinney

2002    TE Mark Campbell

2003    DL Courtney Brown

2004    RB Lee Suggs

2005    LB Kenard Lang

2006    K Phil Dawson

2007    DB Gary Baxter

2008    WR Joe Jurevicius

2009    WR Mike Furrey

2010    LB Eric Barton

2011    LB D'Qwell Jackson

2012    P Reggie Hodges

2013    DB T.J. Ward

Powered by WorldNow