Six players were named Heisman Trophy finalists on Monday - 19 Action News|Cleveland, OH|News, Weather, Sports

Six players were named Heisman Trophy finalists on Monday

Posted: Updated:
(WOIO) -

Six players were named Heisman Trophy finalists on Monday. This is the first time six finalists have been named since 1994. 

Four quarterbacks and two running backs were named finalists. The quarterbacks include: Johnny Manziel - Texas A&M, Jameis Winston - Florida State, AJ McCarron - Alabama and Jordan Lynch - Northern Illinois. Manziel won the Heisman last season becoming the first freshman to win the honor. The two running backs invited to the ceremony are Andre Williams from Boston College and Tre Mason of Auburn. 

Johnny Manziel won the Heisman last year, becoming the first freshman in history to do so. This year the consensus favorite to win the honors, Jameis Winston, could become only the second freshman to win the Heisman in it's 75th year history. 

Winston set freshman records this season with 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns, leading Florida State to an undefeated season and a berth in the BCS National Championship game. 

Manziel threw for 3,732 yards and 33 touchdowns and ran for 686 yards and eight touchdowns. He would become only the second player to win the award twice, Archie Griffin is the only player to take home the honors two times (1974, 75).

McCarron threw for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns this season for Alabama. He has only lost three games in his four year career with the Crimson Tide. 

Lynch set a record for rushing yards by a quarterback this season with 1,881 yards on the ground. He also passed for 2,676 yards and 23 touchdowns. 

Williams ran for 2,102 yards in 2013, the first player to go over 2,000 rushing yards since 2008. He averaged 6.4 yards per carry and didn't catch a pass the entire season.

Mason, who ran for 304 yards and four touchdowns in the SEC Championship Game Saturday, ran for 1,621 yards and 22 touchdowns this season.

Notable players left out by Heisman voters include: Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey, Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller and Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr. Carr leads the nation in both passing yards and passing touchdowns. Fresno State's loss to San Jose State on November 29th could be the reason he was snubbed.

Copyright 2013 WOIO. All rights reserved.


Powered by WorldNow