First Deacon Jones award goes to Robert Mathis - 19 Action News|Cleveland, OH|News, Weather, Sports

First Deacon Jones award goes to Robert Mathis

Posted: Updated:
(WOIO) -

Indianapolis Colts linebacker Robert Mathis will receive the first Deacon Jones award. Mathis who finished the season with 19.5 sacks. Mathis finished just ahead of Rams defensive end Robert Quinn, who had 19 sacks, and will be given the award on February 1 at NFL Honors, the league's award show.

"Deacon Jones is the creator of the sack so to be able to win the first award in his honor is an honor," Mathis said in a release from the league.  "I'm very proud that I was able to win it and I thank my teammates, mainly the d-line, who were very instrumental in helping me get to the quarterback.  It's a unit award, more so than an individual award."

Deacon Jones died last year at the age of 74, the NFL created an award bearing his name that will be given to the NFL's leader in sacks each year.

Copyright 2013 WOIO. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow