2014 USA International Ballet Competition Announces Semi-Finalists - 19 Action News|Cleveland, OH|News, Weather, Sports

2014 USA International Ballet Competition Announces Semi-Finalists

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact pressreleases@worldnow.com.

SOURCE USA International Ballet Competition

JACKSON, Miss., June 19, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The first round of the 2014 USA International Ballet Competition concludes with 54 competitors advancing to Round II. The USA IBC is the official international ballet competition in the United States as designated by a Joint Resolution of Congress.

            Round two competitors are:

            Senior Males:
            Aaron Smyth (Australia)
            Andile Ndlovu (South Africa)
            Byul Yun (Republic of Korea)
            Dae Han Na (Republic of Korea)
            Gantsooj Otgonbyamba (Mongolia)
            Ilya Artamonov (Russia)
            Ivan Duarte (Brazil)
            Jeong Hansol (Republic of Korea)
            Ji Seok Ha (Republic of Korea)
            Jun Tanabe (Japan)
            Kota Fujishima (Japan)
            Mengjun Chen (Peoples Republic of China)
            Mozart Mizuyama (Brazil)
            Nayon Rangel Iovino (Brazil)
            Rodrigo Almarales (Cuba)
            Sebastian Vinet (Chile)
            Steven Loch (USA)
            Telmo Moreira (Portugal)                              

            Senior Females:
            Arianni Martin (Cuba)
            Ga-Yeon Jung (Republic of Korea)
            Heewon Cho (Republic of Korea)
            Hitomi Nakamura (Japan)
            Irina Sapozhnikova (Russia)
            Jessica Assef (Brazil)
            Kaori Fukui (Japan)
            Melissa Gelfin (USA)
            Olga Marchenkova (Russia)
            Shiori Kase (Japan)
            Sirui Liu (Peoples Republic of China)
            Tamako Miyazaki (Japan)
            Ye Lim Choi (Republic of Korea)
            Yui Sugawara (Japan)                                      

            Junior Males:
            Aran Bell (USA)
            Blake Kessler (USA)
            Daniel Alejandro McCormick-Quintero (Mexico)
            Gustavo Carvalho (Brazil)
            Jinsol Eum (Republic of Korea)
            Taiyu He (Peoples Republic of China)
            Yue Shi (Peoples Republic of China)
            Junior Females: 
            Ami Naito (Japan)
            Gabrielle Chock (USA)
            Gisele Bethea (USA)
            Katherine Barkman (USA)
            Mackenzie Richter (USA)
            Mizuho Nagata (Japan)
            Olivia Gusti (USA)
            Paula Alves (Brazil)
            Paulina Guraieb Abella (Mexico)
            Rieko Hatato (Japan)
            Romina Contreras (Chile)
            So Jung Lee (Republic of Korea)
            Victoria Wong (USA)
            Yasmin Lomondo (Brazil)
            Yoshiko Kamikusa (Japan)

"The dancers competing in the 2014 USA IBC are presenting a high caliber of artistic performance and skill," said Sue Lobrano, USA IBC executive director. "Anticipation is high moving into the Contemporary Round II."

Round II is scheduled for June 20 – 22. The two-week competition concludes June 29.

The USA IBC is a two-week, "olympic-style" competition where tomorrow's stars vie for gold, silver and bronze medals; cash awards; company contracts; and scholarships. The event is designated as the official international ballet competition in the United States by a Joint Resolution of Congress. Presented under the auspices of the International Dance Committee, International Theatre Institute of UNESCO, the USA IBC is held every four years in Jackson, Miss., in the tradition of sister competitions in Varna, Bulgaria, and Moscow, Russia.  For more information about the USA IBC, visit www.usaibc.com or www.facebook.com/usaibc.

©2012 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow